Wissota Late Model Challenge Series

Next Event

Schedule TBA



Wissota Late Model Challenge Series


FERGUS FALLS, MN (MAY 13, 2022) – Veteran driver Pat Doar used his experience to snatch the lead and cashed it in for the win in the 40 lap Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge season opener at I-94 Sure Step Speedway in Fergus Falls, MN.

37 cars made the trek to Fergus Falls with hopes of making the 25 car main event. Cole Schill and Ryan Mikkelson led the field to the green with Schill taking command early on. Doar would slip by Mikkelson to take second as Schill set a fast pace. The leaders tracked down the back half of the field and just before the halfway point, Doar used the traffic to his advantage as he charged to the lead. Schill would hang tight in second as the only caution of the race came out on lap 24 for a car that spun. On the restart, Doar picked up where he left off and extended his lead over Schill. Doar would go untouched the rest of the way to take the $5000 top prize. Schill locked down second as Mikkelson, Cole Searing and Jimmy Mars rounded out the top five.

The win was Doar’s 36th career Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge victory. He remains the leader in All Time Wins for the series, now with 4 more that John Kaanta’s 32.

The next event for the Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge Series will be Saturday June 25th at Ogilvie Raceway. The series will then travel to Granite City Motor Park on Sunday June 26th. For more information on the Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge series, visit www.wissotachallengeseries.com.

Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge Series

Structural Buildings Inc A Feature (40 Laps): 1. 11-Pat Doar[3]; 2. 44-Cole Schill[1]; 3. 15*-Ryan Mikkelson[2]; 4. 10-Cole Searing[9]; 5. 28-Jimmy Mars[6]; 6. 28S-Sam Mars[5]; 7. 5E-Shane Edginton[10]; 8. 6M-Jeff Massingill[11]; 9. 2M-Dave Mass[8]; 10. 85-John Kaanta[7]; 11. 32X-Jordan Tollakson[12]; 12. 27R-Jake Redetzke[19]; 13. 22E-Kevin Eder[15]; 14. 44N-Darrell Nelson[13]; 15. 18X-Shawn Meyer[16]; 16. 30-Kevin Burdick[4]; 17. 12S-Brad Seng[21]; 18. 5-Josh Zimpel[18]; 19. 1 2-Bryce Sward[22]; 20. 10X-Blake Swenson[23]; 21. (DNF) 50-Ben Wolden[17]; 22. (DNF) 37JR-Morgan Ward Grosz[25]; 23. (DNF) 37-Scott Ward[14]; 24. (DNF) 7S-Sam Zender[24]; 25. (DNF) C4-Ryan Corbett[20]

ERMA B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 27R-Jake Redetzke[2]; 2. 12S-Brad Seng[3]; 3. 10K-Shawn Kirwin[1]; 4. 7S-Sam Zender[9]; 5. 47-Danny Vang[10]; 6. 3H-Jerry Hauge[8]; 7. (DNF) 42-Paul Niznik[7]; 8. (DNF) 2*-Cole Babcock[6]; 9. (DQ) 27-Jared Zimpel[4]; 10. (DQ) 32-Max Nelson[5]

Structural Buildings Inc B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. C4-Ryan Corbett[2]; 2. 1 2-Bryce Sward[3]; 3. 10X-Blake Swenson[1]; 4. X-Chuck Swenson[4]; 5. 76-Dustin Johanneck[6]; 6. 37JR-Morgan Ward Grosz[7]; 7. 17-Zack Tysdal[5]; 8. (DNS) 3M-Greg Meyer; 9. (DNS) 17G-Mike Greseth

Joe Provo Racewear Heat 1 (12 Laps): 1. 15-Ryan Mikkelson[1]; 2. 85-John Kaanta[3]; 3. 32X-Jordan Tollakson[4]; 4. 50-Ben Wolden[2]; 5. 44N-Darrell Nelson[9]; 6. 12S-Brad Seng[7]; 7. X-Chuck Swenson[8]; 8. 2-Cole Babcock[6]; 9. 37JR-Morgan Ward Grosz[10]; 10. (DQ) 47-Danny Vang[5]

AllStar Trophies and Awards Heat 2 (12 Laps): 1. 11-Pat Doar[2]; 2. 5E-Shane Edginton[1]; 3. 28-Jimmy Mars[6]; 4. 10-Cole Searing[8]; 5. 27R-Jake Redetzke[5]; 6. 10K-Shawn Kirwin[9]; 7. 17-Zack Tysdal[3]; 8. (DNF) 3M-Greg Meyer[4]; 9. (DNF) 17G-Mike Greseth[7]

Marvs Trailer Sales Heat 3 (12 Laps): 1. 30-Kevin Burdick[2]; 2. 28S-Sam Mars[3]; 3. 37-Scott Ward[1]; 4. 22E-Kevin Eder[5]; 5. 18X-Shawn Meyer[7]; 6. 1 2-Bryce Sward[4]; 7. 27-Jared Zimpel[8]; 8. 76-Dustin Johanneck[6]; 9. (DNF) 7S-Sam Zender[9]

Structural Buildings Inc Heat 4 (12 Laps): 1. 44-Cole Schill[3]; 2. 6M-Jeff Massingill[1]; 3. 2M-Dave Mass[7]; 4. 5-Josh Zimpel[4]; 5. C4-Ryan Corbett[5]; 6. 10X-Blake Swenson[9]; 7. 32-Max Nelson[2]; 8. 42-Paul Niznik[6]; 9. 3H-Jerry Hauge[8]

Article Credit: Dean Reller

Submitted By: Camryn Sullivan

Back to News


Latest Photos

Structural Buildings
Dirt Track Supply
Joe Provo
RaceWest Awards
My Erma
Garage-Tech X-Treme