Wissota Late Model Challenge Series

From Open Trailer to Victory Lane For Fegers


Rapid Speedway

From Open Trailer to Victory Lane For Fegers

The temperature was cool, but the racing was hot on Friday evening at Rapid Speedway. 93 drivers competed, including 18 Wissota Challenge Series drivers. The Sportsmans started off feature action competing for extra money thanks to the Sportsman Special. Right off the bat, drivers went four-wide on lap one. Pushing to the lead was Brian Kroon, looking for his third win of the season. Kroon led the pack around the bottom, but Andy Wiexzorek was charging around the top-side of the track. Kroon would survive a couple cations to pick up the win, followed by Wiexzorek and Bryant Klaassen. The USRA Hobby Stocks feature was full of heavy hitters, many looking to join Chad Lonneman as a multi-feature winner this season. Nick Brady took the lead early, but spun, bringing out a caution, after being passed by Blake Arends. Late cautions brought Dylan Fitzpatrick and Dustin Gulbrandson to Arends bumper, all looking for their second win of the season. Arends would hold off a charge by Gulbrandson on the final lap to take the victory. Next up, the Wissota Challenge Series late models feature would not disappoint. The 40 lap main event would feature lap traffic, lead changes, and groove changes. Marshall Fegers, one of the few drivers with an open trailer, jumped to the lead as the feature went caution free for the first 25 laps. While Fegers was cruising around the bottom, Jeff Wildung was making the top groove work, passing six cars to get to the runner-up position with 15 laps to go. On the restart, Fegers got the signal from his lone pit-crew member, his dad, to move to the top-side of the track. On the restart, Lance Matthees passed Fegers and led two laps before Fegers made the top of the track work and get back by Matthees. Fegers went on to cruise to a victory, even after another caution with 7 laps to go. Matthess and Wildung rounded out the podium. The USRA Stock Car feature was exciting from the start, when early leader, Nate Barger, spun in front of the field, handing the lead to Thor Anderson. Thor Anderson went on to open up a huge lead, but then came a late caution. Anderson was then challenged by 11th place starter, Cullen De Ruyter. The two went side-by-side the final two laps, and Anderson beat De Ruyter by .007 at the checkered flag. The glory was short lived for Anderson because he was later disqualified, giving the 2nd victory of the year to Cullen De Ruyter. The night was capped off by the always exciting USRA Stock Cars. Elijah Zevenbergen was looking for his 4th straight win at Rapid Speedway, but it was not his night, picking up a 6th place finish. Scott Overgaard went from eight starting position to first place in a little over one lap. Overgaard kept the lead for much of the race, but defending champion Rich Gregoire was looking for his first trophy of the season. Gregoire finally got by Overgaard with a handful of laps remaining to pick up that first win of the year. You won’t want to miss the First Annual Randy Droescher Memorial this Tuesday, July 19, during the Lyon County Fair! Then Friday, July 22, is free grandstand admission for everyone!

Article Media

Back to News


Latest Photos

Structural Buildings
Dirt Track Supply
Joe Provo
RaceWest Awards
My Erma
Garage-Tech X-Treme